Kimchi Pancake

October 1, 2011 § Leave a comment

This is the last of my Korean food week. I used up the last bit of kimchi I have in the fridge to make kimchi pancake today. It was the worse of all the Korean food I made this week. And it was all my fault.

I didn’t have enough kimchi. So I added onions. Whats wrong you ask? I have about 2/3 of a large onion left in the fridge. I diced 1/3 of it and added it in the batter. I thought it didn’t look enough and diced the remaining onions and added it in. Wrong move now its too much. So that was the first mistake.

Second mistake. I poured everything into the pan. A not very large pan. So unsurprisingly there was too much stuff and took too long to cook. I went back to read the recipe at Aeri’s Kitchen. Only then did I realized I should have spread it thinly. Since it was too thick the top was too soft and uncook. And so it got decimated when I tried flipping it. Another contributor to this problem was my onions were too chunky as you could see in the photo.

Overall, the taste was alright but the texture wasn’t there. So lessons learnt don’t add too much onions/kimchi into the batter. Dice them to a small size (coarsely but not that big!) and spread thinly. I also substituted a couple of items I didn’t have soy milk instead of milk but this didn’t seem a problem. I also didn’t have Korean frying mix and since NYT‘s recipe used potato startch I used corn startch as replacement. Well they’re both startch.

I’ll try again next time. Putting kimchi pancake to the front of the cooking queue next time I buy kimchi so maybe it’ll taste better without those onions.

Cooked on: October 2, 2011
Reference: here, here (pancake) and here (dipping sauce).

Dipping sauce (exactly from NYT)
Ingredients:

  • 1 tbs soy sauce
  • 1/4 tsp vinegar
  • 1/4 tsp sesame oil
  • Handful of scallions and sesame seeds

Directions:
Mix everything together and that’s it.

Pancake
Approximate ingredients (:

  • 3/4 flour (I used wheat)
  • 1/4 corn starch (should be Korean frying mix)
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 cup soy milk (should be milk)
  • 1/3 cup water
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • dash of salt
  • 1/4 cup kimchi juice
  • 1/2 cup kimchi
  • 3/4 cup onions

Note: Kimchi and onions are really rough approximation so take those with a grain of salt.
Directions:

  • Add the flour, corn starch, sugar and salt into a mixing bowl. Mix them well. Then add soy milk and water, then egg and finally kimchi juice. Mix them until smooth.
  • Add the kimchi and onions. Mix throughly.
  • Heat up a pan with oil. When its hot pour the batter in.
  • When the bottom side is done, flip.
  • When cooked serve with the dipping sauce.
Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Kimchi Pancake at Wuish.

meta

