Japanese Pickled Cucumbers

October 1, 2011 § Leave a comment

I love munching on the Japanese pickled cucumbers you sometimes get as a side dish in Japanese restaurants. I like its tangy and crunchy flavor. It clears the palate and makes the meal so much more appetizing.

There is a stall in the U-district farmer’s market that sells Japanese vegetables. Cucumbers, squash, pumpkins and various Japanese varietal of vegetables. They even have bitter gourd something I have never saw in Uwajimaya the huge Japanese owned supermarket here in Seattle. Last Saturday when I was there they cut up some Japanese cucumbers as samples for people to try. It had a nice crunchy and refreshing flavor. It has the crunchiness of the cucumbers here and the refreshing-ness of the cucumbers from home. Since I don’t typically make salads or cook anything that use cucumbers I couldn’t find a reason to buy them. But I so wanted to. Grasping for a reason I remembered the Japanese pickled cucumbers I enjoyed. So I bought two of them (in case pickling them turned to a disaster and they were expensive) and started googling for a recipe when I got home.

This was last weekend. I finally tried them today. They retained the crunchiness of the original but has the tangy flavor of pickles. I think I added too much vinegar as there is a distinct vinegar taste. I could also not taste the kombu seaweed but that maybe due to the overpowering vinegar. Next time I’ll try with a little less vinegar.

Made on: September 24, 2011
Reference: here

Ingredients:

    • 2 Japanese cucumbers
    • 3/4 tsp sea salt
    • 1.5 inches of Kombu seaweed
    • 7 tbs water
    • 3 tbs rice vinegar
    • 1/2 tsp brown sugar

Directions:

  • Wash the cucumbers and pat dry. Rub the cucumbers with sea salt then slice them.
  • Put the cucumbers into a jar.
  • Mix the sugar, water and vinegar in a bowl. Pour it into the jar.
  • Seal and refrigerate for at least 12 hours.
Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Japanese Pickled Cucumbers at Wuish.

meta

